Reviews

What people are saying about Melrose Guest House




Briliant Guest House - Rating 5/5

The Melrose Guest House is a first class Guest House, room 2beautiful with high quality furnishings and everything you require.The breakfast first class plenty of choice and Monique & Jim very friendly the guest house a credit to their hard work, will definitely return.

Reviewer:Elaine G | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 17 hours ago


Lovely stay, have stayed here twice before, would stay again - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm modern comfortable room inlcuding en suite shower and bath robes, breakfast delicious, drying room available for wet clothes, the owners are very helpful, walking maps available, right near the centre of Ambleside, excellent location. Love this B& B

Reviewer:Julie P | Sat 17th Nov 2018 | 2 days ago


plesent weekend - Rating 5/5

we had a very warm welcome on arrival breakfast was excellent the bed was very comfortable a first class weekend had by all would recommend very highly thanks for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Michael T | Wed 14th Nov 2018 | 5 days ago


Clean- Rating 4/5

Lovely and clean,very welcoming hosts...great breakfast...for me the only downside was the shower/toilet for the single room was across the corridor so was little uneasy going to the toilet at night

Reviewer:Owen D | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

Spent the weekend here with a small group of friends as a base to go mountain biking. The whole experience was spot on, from booking over the phone, the welcome on arrival to the helpfulness and quality of the service. The breakfasts were excellent, the room was refurbished to a very high standard and was clean and homely and the hosts were friendly with nothing being too much trouble for them. I will definitely be staying here again, with friends or with family.

Reviewer:Matthew D | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


Best B+B we\'ve ever been to, highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for s couple of nights to do some walking. Jim and Monique were very welcoming and helpful and unobtrusive, great balance. Their home has been done up beautifully, with great lighting, bedrooms, and many extra touches e.g. clay toiletries, Lakeland tap water, use of their drying room, loan of a hot flask of coffee for the day for walks, you can even order a picnic lunch for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was amazing. We felt so welcome.

Reviewer:Catherina W | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 2 weeks ago


October Stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent hospitality. Lovely clean & comfortable room and great breakfast. Just the job for our short stay. We would certainly stay again. Many thanks Jim & Monique.

Reviewer:Michael F | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Fantastic place!! - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend, what is easily the nicest B& B we’ve stayed in at Ambleside. Welcoming hosts, immaculate and well equipped rooms and bathrooms. Fantastic breakfast! We will most definitely be back!

Reviewer:Claire h | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Enjoyable stay at Melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and clean room, excellent breakfast, and very friendly and helpful hosts

Reviewer:Diana S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely hosts,lovely room, great location! - Rating 5/5

This was an ideal stop for myself and my mum in Ambleside. We travel up to the lakes every year and will certainly be returning.Jim and Monique were lovely hosts, very personable and well prepared with menu samples, racks for muddy boots, board games.Rooms were modern, well kept and well stocked.Good choice of breakfast, orders placed the night before with an eating time to ensure food was fresh and prompt. Gluten free was readily catered for.Ideal location in the centre, with parking spaces available around a 5 minute walk from the b& bThanks both!Rick

Reviewer:Rick A | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

The Melrose guest house is very clean and modern. I visited Ambleside with four friends for a walking break the family roomwas particularly useful to us being a group of five. Breakfast was top quality, location is great for accessing the town centre, secure parking for small charge a couple of hundred yards away from the guest house was useful. We were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewer:paul l | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place, great hosts and at ease as soon as inside ,so clean and tastefully done ,room immaculate , lots of information available, safe secure parking if required, just visit you won't be disappointed ! Nice place,well done Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Madeleine S | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Windy week in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, friendly hosts, lovely breakfast, nice room. Would be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:John K | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Recommend - Rating 5/5

Thanks Jim and Monique - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Spa is brilliant, breakfast too.We will be back should we come back to the lakes!

Reviewer:Michael T | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Short break in the lakes - Rating 5/5

Dear Jim and Monique, enjoyed our second visit. Very comfortable lovely bedroom. Very handy for walking into Ambleside. Will certainly be back. Regards Allan and Dirothy Cordall. 😊😊

Reviewer:Dorothy & Alan C | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay at this excellent Guest House which is well situated in the village of Ambleside, allowing access to many amenities/attractions/walks etc within the Lake District.Rooms were very comfortable, breakfast very appetising, and Jim and Monique are excellent hosts.

Reviewer:Jim M | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


October break.- Rating 4/5

We stayed here for a mid week break. Could not fault the hotel. From the welcome to the rooms and breakfast everything was good. Would definitely recommend and hopefully we will be back in the future.

Reviewer:Eileen S | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Weekend Break.- Rating 5/5

We stayed Fri-Sun. Very warm, clean & comfortable. Food quality on offer was outstanding. Hosts very friendly.

Reviewer:Toni M | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Fantastic place to stay, thoroughly recommended- Rating 5/5

Wonderful hosts who gave us a very warm welcome. Guest house is beautiful, absolutely spotless. Rooms are immaculate.Breakfast was very yummy.Jim & Monique were the perfect hosts, nothing to much trouble. Thank you very much. 😀

Reviewer:Rita M | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

We have just enjoyed our 3rd stay with Jim and Monique and another fabulous stay. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Ambleside. Beautiful clean comfy and warm rooms superb breakfast. We will be returning very soon.

Reviewer:Clare B | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Beautiful & Cosy - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Leigh C | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Good all round B and B that ticks all the boxes - Rating 5/5

Great location in Ambleside on the doorstep of the bus station, cinema, shops and tourist information but still quiet on Ambleside bin day which has been the downside of othe Ambleside b& bs we have stayed in. Room was very comfortable and airy with decent size mugs for a cup of tea that lasts more than 2 gulps. Yummy breakfast with plenty of choice and genuinely warm friendly hosts. Best place we’ve stayed in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Catherine c | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Couldn’t be better - Rating 5/5

The room was stunning. The food was flavourful and plentiful. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. By far one of the bests B& Bs we’ve been to. Well done to the hosts for doing such a spectacular job. We’ll be back!

Reviewer:Matthew F | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


A great stop over! - Rating 5/5

The B& B is clean, warm and comfortable, nicely decorated with everything I needed. Also handy to have a disc to park outside. I got a good breakfast and everyone was friendly and helpful. Thank you! I will stay again when I'm in the area.

Reviewer:Amanda S | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had the most fantastic stay, the accommodation was lovely everything you needed was provided, very clean but most of all extremely welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the owners couldn’t do enough for you. We will most definitely be back soon. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Tracy T | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Ambleside ambiance- Rating 5/5

Spent 4 nights at Melrose guest house & thoroughly enjoyed it. Good breakfast, cosy room, great hospitality of Jim & Monique. Ambleside is a magical place with nice eating places & lovely walks. It was always a pleasure to return to the comfort of our room at the end of the day. No problem with parking on street after hours either. Will recommend to friends & family!

Reviewer:Barry R | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, well sized room, great value, great continental and cooked breakfast options. Very warm and comfortable. Ideally placed in town but no noise from outside.

Reviewer:Pam B | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


The Melrose- Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Melrose, was very comfortable and very pleasant. Jim and Monique were welcoming and friendly and made our stay all the better. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

Reviewer:Richard B | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a fanastic time - beautiful room amazing breakfast fabulous hosts will definitely be back

Reviewer:Christina F | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had the most fantastic stay, the accommodation was lovely everything you needed was provided, very clean but most of all extremely welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the owners couldn’t do enough for you. We will most definitely be back soon. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Tracy T | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Short break in the Lake District - Rating 5/5

The weather was not the best but our stay at Melrose Guesthouse was brilliant. Monique made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and more. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious, with plenty of choice. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Lynda B | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


one night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely people,Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Edward H | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Spot On - Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay was excellent.We booked direct online with the guesthouse which was a simple, straightforward hassle free process.These was a warm and friendly welcome from Monique when we arrived. Service throughout our stay was top notch.Our room was smartly decorated, clean, comfortable and spacious. The en-suite bathroom looked very new and was to a high spec.Breakfast was fantastic - a good variety of choices using top quality ingredients beautifully prepared and presented. Just the job to set us up for a day of walking.The secure car parking was just a short walk away.

Reviewer:Martin W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Well located, friendly welcome, excellent breakfasts and comfortable room.

Reviewer:Paul R | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


A little gem in the Lakes- Rating 5/5

Monique and Jim could not do enough for you and made you feel really at home, kind friendly hosts. Melrose guest house will be hard to beat for food, rooms and welcome. Will come back soon. Thanks

Reviewer:Mr y | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Brief but very comfortable and accommodating stay. Thank you

Reviewer:Karl H | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Warm, relaxing stay- Rating 5/5

We stayed at Melrose before commencing a circular walking holiday and also at the end of the walk. Jim and Monique are perfect hosts, very attentive and welcoming. The attention to detail is fabulous. The house is beautiful, warm and friendly. Breakfast amazing fresh food with loads of choice! Location couldn’t be better. Centre of town and quiet too. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tracey B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Splendid one night stay, will return for sure - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, exceptionally clean room, great breakfast, only a one night stay, will return for sure, thanks very much !!

Reviewer:Andrew P | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic friendly guest house in a great location - Rating 5/5

Melrose was a beautiful tasteful guest house in a great location. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Jim and Monnique were wonderful hosts and breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Reviewer:Sue H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Highly Recommended- Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here and it doesn't disappoint the room was excellent very clean and the staff are very friendly the breakfasts are excellent would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique were lovely and welcoming. Our stay was just for one night but they made it an enjoyable one. The breakfast was lovely and the house is stunning. Would recommend this guest house to anyone. Thank you Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Mel B | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic Guest House- Rating 5/5

Very friendly & fantastic food & service. Immaculately clean & very well maintained rooms & property. Will definately be back.

Reviewer:Jacky J | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


pleasurabe break - Rating 5/5

My stay at your guest house couldn't have been any better. I was well looked after. the room was kept spotless, the breakfast was delicious. Plenty of help & advie was available on places to visit, bus routes ets. I will definately return. Thank you.

Reviewer:steven j | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Melrose guest house- Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel good food very friendly and helpful lovely clean and comfortable roomsDefinitely would return and recommend to everyone

Reviewer:Richard W | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


B&B Stay - Rating 5/5

We would like to say a big thank youto the new owners of the Melrose B& BThe breakfasts are excellentWe would definitely recommend a stay hereAnd will return soonJulie and Graham

Reviewer:MR G T | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic B and B September 2018 - Rating 5/5

My husband and I were looking for a great place to stay in Ambleside and the Melrose Guest house did not disappoint. This B and B is an absolute gem. Lovely decor, comfortable and very clean. Jim and Monique are lovely hosts whom we found to be very welcoming. Breakfast was more than adequate with Monique making a mean full english. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. One of the best guest houses we've stayed in.

Reviewer:Joanne L | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 4/5

Lovely welcome, comfy rooms, selection of breakfasts, fantastic location, lovely treat of a spa included. Lots of local walk info, games and dvds. Thank you

Reviewer:Kathryn B | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


A most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a fairly central location in Ambleside as a base for a five night stay in the Lakes. After careful research we booked Melrose back in April and arrived in early September. We were met by Jim and Monique, who made us most welcome and who were excellent hosts throughout our stay. The care and attention to detail was outstanding as was the cleanliness of the house - and as for the breakfasts, that was something else! We found their 'library' of local books and maps very helpful. We were also very grateful for the coffee provided in our flask each day as we headed out. Couldn't fault anything.

Reviewer:Graham W | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely Guest House this is.The breakfasts were very tasty.Our room was really comfortable.Clearly Jim and Monique have paid attention to the details that make for a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Carole M | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Exellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice place to stay,close to everything and very friendly. Thumbs up from me👍

Reviewer:Garry M | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Warm, clean and very well presented. Excellent breakfast

Reviewer:R B | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Melrose, Ambleside.- Rating 5/5

Excellent standard.

Reviewer:Liam H | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay at Melrose- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Close attention to detail in every aspect, warm welcome, excellent breakfast and comfy room.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Guest House - Rating 4/5

Perfect guest house accomadation excellent bedrooms spotless. Lots of Restaurants withinwalking distance very well situated for access to the surrounding area . Would stay again.

Reviewer:Kevin W | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Three Night stay - 4th to 7thSeptember 2018.- Rating 5/5

Our visit to Melrose Guest House was most enjoyable. Everything of a very high standard, excellent breakfast, and we we made most welcome. All in all "First Class".

Reviewer:Dennis B | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Magic! - Rating 5/5

Having stayed at Melrose 3 previous timesWith the old owners I was very happy toReturn as all my previous stays were verypleasent. But I have to say that Jim andMonique were absolutely magic and made both myself and mum very welcome. I foundit to be more relaxed with Jim and Monique. More home from home. And Moniques poached eggs are to die for!. So thank you so much for a wonderful and friendly stay anyone would think you had been doing it for years. So well done!!!!🤗🌷

Reviewer:Suzanne G | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean guest house. Monique and Jim both helpful, friendly and welcoming. Will use again if traveling in the Ambleside area

Reviewer:Mary M | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

I can honestly say my stay was beyond my expectations. I could not fault anything.My stay was so enjoyable, such a beautiful house and the staff were so welcoming and genuinely wanted to make sure you were happy. A business that is not made to make money but to make sure you are happy.Many thanks for showing me that there are still people who care in this world.

Reviewer:Mike B | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent small cosy B&B perfectly located in a quiet road close to all amenaties - Rating 5/5

5 star.Lovely B& B excellent value for money.Run by a charming friendly and most helpful couple. Some lovely little touches, water and biscuits in the room nice towels, very clean and comfortable bedroom and private toilet/shower. Breakfast cooked to order (order night before), lovely and fresh served within minutes of sitting down and breakfast containing good quality meats and eggs, bread and coffee.10 out of 10 :)

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Ambliside Weekend - Rating 4/5

Very friendly hosts.Meticulously clean and very central.

Reviewer:Janette j | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely Days in Ambleside- Rating 5/5

This well appointed Guest House in the centre of Ambleside is great. The owners are friendly, caring and run a fine house. Jim & Monique are helpful and welcoming, with a really nice service- not to mention a good breakfast. Going again.

Reviewer:Philip R | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great place to enjoy the lakes - Rating 5/5

Throughly Enjoyed our stay.Jim & Monique we’re very hospitable and the accommodation is first class.Breakfast excellent

Reviewer:David M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Babymoon- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights. Check in was efficient & friendly. The room was lovely & clean. Beds were comfy - Being 32 weeks pregnant I managed to get some sleep so thumbs up. Breakfasts were good quality. It would have been niceto have water out at breakfast & a selection of teas but I am sure if we had asked Jim would have brought some. Enjoyed a relaxing morning at the spa with guest passes. Jim was lovely the whole time. Overall a fantastic place to stay in the middle of the town. Would definitely stay here again & reccommend it to anyone for such a reasonable price. ☺️

Reviewer:Jack R | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


A very pleasant guest house - Rating 4/5

Very much enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Mary T | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Lynne- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights at Melrose Guest House.Great breakfast.Jim is a very good host.

Reviewer:Lynne G | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

Good central location,nicely presented room,good hearty breakfast, free access to salutation health and spa facilities, nice friendly hosts, no complaints!

Reviewer:Colin W | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


The best guesthouse we’ve ever stayed in - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely with every little thing thought of without us asking! Hosts were so welcoming, greeting us by name daily which really made us feel welcome. Breakfast was out of this world - with fresh fruit and real Cumberland sausage which in my opinion is the only way to judge a decent full english! Thank you so much for a lovely few days in the lakes, will be looking to stay here again next time

Reviewer:michelle p | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


3 night stay at Melrose guest house - Rating 5/5

We found a warm welcome at melrose house.We booked the family room and found it spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.The breakfasts were generous, tasty and well presented.Jim and Monique were excellent hosts and we wish them well.Catherine and Andrew, Thomas and Robert.

Reviewer:Andrew S | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Jim & Monique excellent hosts. Superb breakfast choice. Nice clean and modern family room.Excellent location . Would definately return.Nothingwas too much trouble. Friendly and welcoming.Thank you for making our weekend memorable. Mick,Linda & Kelly.

Reviewer:Linda O | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Corkers Lake District visit - Rating 5/5

Hi Monique and JimThank you so much for a lovely stay and for making us so welcome in your beautiful home!The rooms were so comfortable and beautifully decorated, loved the toiletries.Thank you so much for the fantastic breakfasts, so nicely cooked with quality ingredients, particularly the sausages. Not forgetting the wonderful service from Jim!We couldn't fault our stay with you and would love to stay again, if you could arrange better weather it would be appreciated, but Ambleside and surrounding area are so beautiful.Thank you againThe Corker Family XXX

Reviewer:Joanne C | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Outstanding B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent bed and breakfast in the heart of Ambleside.Hosts Jim and Monique made us very welcome.Room was very clean and a good size.Breakfast was outstanding - we had the full English.We will definitely return

Reviewer:Lorraine C | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Perfect guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Stayed augest for 2 nights and couldnt ask for anything more. Immaculate accomadation, great location and 5* breakfast!Hosts were very helpful and attentive and we will definitely be coming back:)

Reviewer:Gemma D | Sun 19th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at the Melrose this week. Jim and Monique made us very welcome and our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The Melrose is very convenient for restaurants in Ambleside being only two or three minutes walk from the centre of town but Church street is very quiet in the evening. The reserved parking spaces are only three or four minutes walk away but are secure in a locked compound.Breakfasts were really nice, freshly cooked with good quality ingredients and the coffee was excellent. We couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend the Melrose.

Reviewer:Kevin M | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

spent three nights at melrose guest-house.could not fault anything.nice and clean rooms. fantastic breakfast. parking available with is a big plus. will be staying here again hopefully soon.

Reviewer:Kim D | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Weekend at ambleside- Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay room very clean and very comfortable and peaceful

Reviewer:Robert M | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stay at the Melrose as we were attending a wedding locally. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome and were shown to our beautiful room (very clean and comfortable). Our sleep that evening was great and the breakfast in the morning was just beautiful. A would highly recommend the Melrose and will defiantly be staying again.

Reviewer:Kimberley R | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Friendly, welcoming, homely and great location.- Rating 5/5

We loved it here. Everything was great! Breakfast, Spa, room and location.

Reviewer:Olivia R | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Warm welcome and wonderful stay in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Monique and Jim have succeeded in creating a welcoming home for their guests, providing delicious breakfast options and lots of information about anything you can think of. We found our supposedly "small"room surprisingly big (except, maybe, for the shower), enjoyed the complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits as well as the bottle of "Lakeside tap water";-) and found the place very quiet at night, although it is right in the centre of Ambleside. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable!

Reviewer:Karin W | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

We had a really nice stay at the Melrose Guesthouse. A nice and clean room, delicious breakfast - and the hosts are just fabulous.

Reviewer:Ole Lass J | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Perfect bed and breakfast- Rating 5/5

Couldn’t fault this accommodation, breakfast perfect , various choices . Room modern and shower modern . The couple who ran the bed and breakfast always had time for you .. nothing was too much trouble perfect weekend away

Reviewer:Linzi W | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Thanks Jim/Monique for excellent hospitality in all areas. You are doing a wonderful job so keep up the good work!! I would highly recommend staying at Melrose and we’ll be doing so again soon hopefully.Richard

Reviewer:Richard W | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Melrose Guest House-Outstanding- Rating 5/5

Melrose Guest House is a lovely B& B.Jim and Monique are outstanding hosts. Their facility is clean, neat and the location is ideal for those wishing to enjoy Ambleside.The breakfast was delicious and the dinning wonderful.We also enjoyed sitting in the front garden area.I highly recommend the Melrose Guest House to anyone visiting the Lake District.

Reviewer:George B | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Great stay despite losing to Croatia - Rating 5/5

I am by nature a pretty fussy XXXX, but this guesthouse ticked all of the boxes for me. Great location, super friendly staff, clean airy room, and what can one say about Jim's sausage? Seriously, the breakfast was wonderful.I'd strongly recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewer:David H | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place and the welcome from Jim & Monique is so friendly. Great rooms, great location & superb breakfast. Would recommend a stay at the Melrose.

Reviewer:Peter C | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

We had an incredible time staying there.

Reviewer:Rafael B | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Probably the best in Ambleside! - Rating 5/5

We had a magnificent stay two weeks ago at Melrose Guest House. Evertything was spot on! Great, friendly hosts, clean refurbished rooms, and a very nice complete breakfast. We'll definitely return here. Hospitality at its best!

Reviewer:Ronald K | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


All the comforts and cake - Rating 5/5

Very warm friendly welcome and throughout our stay. Very informative. Every comfort you need. Incredibly good breakfast. Even cake and drink laid on in the afternoon on return from walk which came as a suprise. Good info on eateries in the area, and very clean throughout. Definitely be back.

Reviewer:Jason f | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


The perfect base to explore the Lake District - Rating 5/5

The perfect B and B , we are motorcyclists and planned a tour of the lake district with our friends also on a motorcycle , the owner Jim ( also a biker ) made room for our motorcycles at the back of the house . Jim and Monique are excellent hosts nothing is too much trouble , the rooms are excellent and the breakfast was perfect , Monique even laid on cakes and scones with tea and coffee in the afternoon over the weekend . We will definitely be calling there again .Bob and Sandie

Reviewer:Robert W | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent Place To Stay - Rating 4/5

Would certainly recommend the Melrose Guest House.We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely have stayed longer if Jim and Monique had any vacancies.Good sized comfortable en-suite bedroom on the ground floor.Breakfast was excellent and it was refreshing to find that fruit, yoghurt and smoked salmon were on the menu as well as the traditional cooked breakfast. No parking for cars on the premises but Jim has 4 places reserved for a small fee in a private car park within a few minutes walk. Very friendly and welcoming.Would definitely book with them again.

Reviewer:Caroline & | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


First class- Rating 5/5

My stay at the Melrose was excellent , Jim and monique were great hosts. I will be returning for sure.

Reviewer:Michael T | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


A very happy fell walker! - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Jim & Monique for a wonderful stay & arranging the superb weather too! Excellent breakfasts to set me up for the day in the hills. I will certainly be staying again in the not to distant future.

Reviewer:RICHARD B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay and the hosts were excellent,1st class breakfast.

Reviewer:George R | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Comfortable stay, great hosts - Rating 5/5

Melrose is a well situated B& B in Ambleside. Jim and a Monique were great hosts, very eager to offer any assistance. They provided a generous and delicious breakfast as well as afternoon tea.

Reviewer:Colleen R | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Recommeded - Rating 5/5

It was the first time we stayed here and we were not disappointed. Immaculate throughout very friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfasts and such a wide choice would definitely go back would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay, lovely house, room nicely decorated and comfortable all very clean and new.Hosts couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, good food.Secure parking.Will go again.

Reviewer:Jean C | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


We\'ll be Back! - Rating 5/5

Great host, excellent location and facilities, beautifully presented and tasty breakfast...couldn't have asked for more!

Reviewer:Stephen S | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Perfectly situated. - Rating 5/5

Jim & Monique are lovely people & nothing is too much trouble. Our room was perfectly clean,especially the bathroom/shower. The breakfast is first class as well. Car parking available for £3 per night within walking distance.

Reviewer:Ian L | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely Relaxing Stay at Melrose - Rating 5/5

On arrival Jim gave us a warm welcome and showed us to the delightful room. We submitted our breakfast request in the evening and after an excellent nights sleep we sat down for a lovely Vegan Breakfast freshly cooked by Monique which was delicious. She even went to the trouble of getting us some Vegan Spread for the toast.After taking part in the Great North Swim is was a lovely chilled stay in the town of Ambleside and very close to the centre for great pubs, shops and restaurants. We were also given a parking disc to use for our stay and made use of the passes for Whites Recreation Ground around the corner.Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Ryan P | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent location. - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with our stay at Melrose Guest House.The owners were friendly and helpful and the house is very central for everything. Breakfast was very good.The room (small double) was fine but the bathroom was very tiny - just as well we are slim.

Reviewer:Maureen F | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Pleasant stay at Melrose Guest House- Rating 5/5

Our room at Melrose Guest House was small yet comfortable. The room and the whole house were very clean. The room came with wide selectionsof coffee, tea and other drinks. The owners were nice and helpful. The breakfast was great with choices, include vegetarian foods. Overall we were so happy and will stay at Melrose Guest House again if we are back in Lake District.

Reviewer:Supavan P | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay x - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guesthouse run by 2 great hosts. Room was spotless and bed very comfy, breakfast each day was amazing with loads on offer! Walking distance from shops and about a 20 minute (1 mile) walk from the pier where you can get boats up and down the lake. We will Definitley return! Thanks to Jim & Monique :)

Reviewer:Susie M | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Lovely 3 night stay in this exceptional guest house with wonderful hosts in jim and monique.we had agreat breakfast each morning with plenty of choice and will definitely be booking again next year.

Reviewer:Neil K | Thu 31st May 2018 | 5 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Just booked a last minute bank holiday get away here and it was excellent. We had a lovely warm welcome, the service was superb and the breakfast was amazing.We would highly recommend and will be staying here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:joanne j | Wed 30th May 2018 | 5 months ago


First class- Rating 5/5

First class stay again everything was perfectRoom very clean, breakfast amazing with lotsChoice.We've already booked for September

Reviewer:Leon B | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Awesome Ambleside - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Melrose Guest House. Jim and Monique were wonderful hosts and very helpful. We were served a delicious breakfast and. Wet much enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend staying here!

Reviewer:Hayden L | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and foodIn addition everyone was very friendly and helpfuland in great location.

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


The Lakes - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay. Room of a good size and very quiet and clean .Breakfast first class. The hosts could not be more helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Allan H | Mon 28th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Absolutely fantastic- Rating 5/5

What can I say. This is the best B and B we have ever stayed in. Room was spotless, lovely bed, so comfortable and fresh bedding. Breakfast perfect especially the poached eggs. Lovely touch one afternoon with coffee/tea and cake when we got back from our day out. Thank you Monique and Jim for our wonderful stay with you, we will be back as you already know. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Robert S | Sun 27th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Fabulous place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was so clean and comfortable, tea and coffee was well stocked and Jim was so helpful and went out of his way to meet a special request of ours and he helped us with parking and our suitcase.

Reviewer:Christine M | Thu 24th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Fantastic weekend- Rating 5/5

Amazing place lovely friendly and made to feel very welcome good fantastic choice lovely rooms beautiful clean and very comfortable will defo be coming back regards viv davies and family x

Reviewer:Viv D | Mon 21st May 2018 | 6 months ago


A great small place - Rating 5/5

The best bed& breakfast, I could think of, run by outstandingly nice people. I slept very well and the breakfast has been fantastic for my taste. Well, don't go here and expect a luxury hotel, but if you appreciate a good guesthouse, this is the place.A warm thank you to Jim and everyone.I had a perfect stay.

Reviewer:Magnus K | Sat 19th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lakes Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely B & B situated in Ambleside. Twenty minute walk to Lake Windamere. Spotless cleanlovely decor. Nothing too much trouble for hosts.

Reviewer:Timothy R | Fri 18th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Great Place & Location - Rating 5/5

We both had a wonderful time with our hosts being friendly and helpful. Accommodation was clean and spacious. We will definitely recommend for a perfect stay in the lakes.

Reviewer:Iain W | Thu 17th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely guesthouse! - Rating 5/5

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Melrose. The hosts are very helpful, great breakfast, and the use of the spa at the Salutation Hotel was a great bonus. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Vivian D | Wed 16th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique have a lovely place in Melrose Guest House. The are a great couple who are attentive and friendly, nothing is any trouble. The guest house is ideally located in Ambleside. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfasts are perfect. I have no problem recommending Melrose Guest House to my friends, confident they will enjoy their stay.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

Great location. Very clean and great breakfasts with good choice. Jim and Monique could not have been more helpful, great hosts. No problem recommending Melrose to friends.

Reviewer:Tom P | Sun 13th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Very welcoming guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay 3-day stay at Melrose Guest House.From the moment we arrived, Jim and Monique could not have been more hospitable.Although they have only been running the Melrose for a few months, they were full of useful tips and have an excellent supply of maps and local information.The location is perfect:right in the heart of Ambleside and its wide variety of amenities.They have a limited number of private car parking spaces - a real advantage given how difficult long-term parking is in Ambleside.The room we stayed in (No 2) was very comfortable and provided a real haven after a hard day's walking.The breakfasts were a real treat:prepared to order, very tasty and definitely requiring a good walk to burn off.We had a very pleasant stay at the Melrose and will definitely stay there again as/when we make it back to the Lakes.

Reviewer:Jonathan D | Sat 12th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Jim and Monique very welcoming and friendly.Helpful with any info required. Good breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. Ground floor room useful if you can't do stairs. Relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Fiona W | Sat 12th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Staying at your B&B - Rating 5/5

Thanks you for your hospitality, we enjoyed our time, and would stay again.Marian & Brian x

Reviewer:Marion T | Tue 8th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Melrose for a week .jim and Monique were lovely hosts breakfast was very tasty good place to base yourself for the lakes.rooms were always kept nice and tidy everyday would stay here again

Reviewer:ricky S | Sun 6th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Tranquil - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay. Convenient location, friendly, clean and beautiful breakfasts! Would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Kirstin M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Lovely B& B in a great location, lots of pubs near by, very clean, nice bathrooms, comfy bed, amazing breakfast! Great hospitality, very friendly and welcoming!Absolutely no faults! Would definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Charlotte V | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

Good quality B & B. Nice size room , everything spotless. Good breakfast with good choice. Jim and Monique cheerful and helpful. Would recommend

Reviewer:jon s | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Already thinking of next stay- Rating 5/5

Exceĺlent hosts. Beds just right, very comfortable. Decor lovely through out very good. Hot water when ever needed. Great breakfast.Hosts Monique & Jim are a lovely couple.

Reviewer:Derek P | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


A home away from home - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Melrose! Couldnt fault a thing. Jim & Monique were friendly and attentive,our room was cosy and beautifully presented. Our breakfast was first class. The property is well positioned for seeing the sights and we would definitely recommend it to one & all. Congratulations on a great job Jim & Monique.

Reviewer:Larraine E | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely weekend in Anbleside- Rating 5/5

Fantastic location in the heart of Ambleside. Accomodation exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with a good choice on offer and freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful therfore looking forward to booking our next trip to Melrose Guest House and will definatly recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Julie M | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with really helpful owners Jim and Monique

Reviewer:Penelope F | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay, will be going back

Reviewer:Amanda J | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect location- Rating 4/5

We spent a night in Melrose in order to attend a family celebration in Ambleside. We found it to be clean, tidy and the owners were very attentive but not overpowering. It is in the perfect location and they serve up a great breakfast. It will be our 'go to' place when visiting Ambleside again. This is the owners first season and we sincerely wish them all the best for the future!

Reviewer:Richard E | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


What a place - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant. From the greeting to departure Jim and Monique were outstanding.Room spotlessly clean decor lovely.If anyone wanting to stay in the lakes I strongly recommend Melrose Guest House. We will definitely be booking again

Reviewer:Keith P | Mon 19th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This visit proved as welcoming and comfortable as a past visit with the prior owners. Glad to meet Jim and Monique and look forward to possible visits.

Reviewer:MARK H | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Would recommend staying to anyone. Exceptionally clean fantastic breakfast and hosts were very friendly.

Reviewer:Adam S | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Stay at the Melrose - Rating 5/5

Our stay at your guest house was outstanding the room was fabulous. We were made welcome from the minute we arrived.lts the best guest house we have ever stayed at. Brilliant!!!

Reviewer:Christine R | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Ambleside B+ B - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a replacement to our previous B+B which had now closed down ..MelRose House certainly fits the Bill in every way ..Excellent in every way...

Reviewer:Derek M | Mon 19th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic stay!!! - Rating 5/5

A beautifully presented guesthouse. Fantastic service, the hosts went above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Lindsey C | Mon 12th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location with secure parking just down the road. Wonderful, friendly hosts who can’t do enough to help. Delicious breakfast, great choice.

Reviewer:Gill L | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Always a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Vaughan J | Fri 19th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Weekend in lakes - Rating 5/5

What a lovely guesthouse we were very impressed hotel and room were spotless and cosy we were made to feel welcome from the start breakfast was awesome will defo stay again

Reviewer:Steven H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Great hospitality from Jim and Monica from checking inn to leaving. Made us very welcomed and included our little boy whos 5 our room was lovely downstairs.my boy said it was his den had everything we neededOnly 1.downsaid the bacon and sausages were slighty over done for our liking but overall good breakfast

Reviewer:Clare H | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


New Year Break - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and very helpful and friendly hosts. Nothing was too much for them. The room was clean and decorated tastefully. The attention to detail was perfect. The breakfast was excellent and we liked the idea of ordering the evening before which saved time. The dining room was clean and again tastefully decorated. The best New Year we have had. We will definitely be returning to the Melrose again.

Reviewer:Carole M | Sun 7th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Melrose Guest House - Rating 4/5

This was a clean and friendly guest house, with a extremely polite and friendly people that were running the place. My breakfast was also very good, I would recommend anyone to stop here and your right in the centre.,

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Spot on - Rating 5/5

Just back from 2 night stay was excellent very cleanAnd the breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to muchtrouble for jim. Good parking facilities 2 minutes down the road only £3 per day.Enjoy it that much booked again for may.

Reviewer:Leon B | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

My stay in Ambleside, was throughly enjoyed, more so because of my stay at Melrose, the room was presented lovely also really clean and cosy, breakfast was absolutely yummy and I would have no reservations about staying in this lovely guesthouse again, thank you so much

Reviewer:Ann P | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Short stay - Rating 4/5

We had a really enjoyableweekend guest housewas lovelybreakfast was lovely and the cople themselves were really friendly although there is no off streetparking for an extra 3 pound per night they have a limitednumber of parking spaces in a compond onlycouple minutes from theguest house

Reviewer:arthur G | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

A lovely place with a great location.Nice breakfast to set you on your way for the day.

Reviewer:George R | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


Great- Rating 4/5

Very nice guest house , great central location , very clean and comfortable, owners very welcoming

Reviewer:Paula C | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


I’ve honestly never stayed in a B&B/guesthouse before.. - Rating 5/5

Firstly I’d like to say that Monique and Jim are lovely professional people.I honestly never stayed in a B& B before, because of the horror stories, strict rules and the thought of eating in someone’s living room just felt wrong.. but after last night, I’d roccomend the Melrose Guesthoise to you all.The room was modern but cosy and it was very very clean.I stay in a LOT of hotels for work, and this place meets most good hotels hands down!!Im unually dissapointed With breakfasts too.. but here it was made to order and it was bloody lovely!The location couldn’t be better too, you’re a minutes walk in to town and all Ambleside has to offer.If you find yourself in Ambleside, give this place a whirl. Great people, great room. great location.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Clean, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Very clean, owners friendly without being intrusive. Great location with quiet rooms and hot showers.Fab view from room 4 at the top of the house.

Reviewer:Lynn M | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights and the minute you walk through the door you know you are going to have a fabulous stay with the greeting you get, also the place was immaculate and breakfast fantastic definitely be back .

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Very clean and efficiently run.Had a pleasant weekend stay in the family room which worked well for us.Hosts very friendly.Brilliant convient location

Reviewer:Naomi P | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a great time staying in Ambleside in this well situated guest house, we were given a great welcome and our host helped in anyway possible. Lovely place

Reviewer:David B | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Just got back after spending three nights at this guest house all I can say is it is fabulous the host Jim made you feel very welcome the minute you walked through the door spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fantastic will be going back

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Ambleside weekend- Rating 5/5

A fantastic weekend . Great location . Excellent hosts who couldn't do enough for you . Spotless rooms and a first class breakfast too . Will definitely be visiting again next year .

Reviewer:Joanne S | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms spot on, excellent location first class breakfast, perfect hosts

Reviewer:Paul B | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect destination- Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay , Jim was a very friendly bloke , room was excellent, service amazing , very close to all of the town eateries, # Lucy on a plate , very quiet and comfortable room , you will be spoiled with quality service ,

Reviewer:Joan P | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Jim was very helpful on arrival, good room and breakfast, very close to the centre.

Reviewer:sharon g | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Would Stay Again - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay . Very welcoming. Clean and friendly. The only gripe i have is perhaps a bit more power in the shower ! Plan to stay here again next year.

Reviewer:JO P | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at Melrose guest house nothing was any trouble for Jim and the staff , rooms comfortable ,will be back at Melrose next summer ,Thank you Jim & Monika

Reviewer:Ernest N | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Break - Rating 4/5

Excellent service and location. Friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.Parking in the area is not cheap and none was available at Melrose.but we were sensibly advised to buy a 3 day ticket which is valid in multiple town car parks. A minor observation for us would be that the beds were a bit too soft for our taste, but comfortable nonetheless.

Reviewer:Paul M | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This certainly was our best B& B stay in UK ! No exaggeration here . The moment you enter you smell “clean” . Very elegantly decorated . Nothing over powering , simple , neat, nice and practicle.We had small double room which was good for us. The ensuit was small , may be not for big people but very clean . The only thing I would suggest would be replacing the shower head as the water flow was slow. But again not the end of the world.Rooms were clean when we came back after our breakfast !Breaskfast was really good , the dining room is very relaxing and felt very homely . Plenty of good coffee , lots of cereal choices . And cooked breakfast was presented nicely and tasty.We stayed there 3 nights , now moved to another location and missing Melrose and regretting not staying there for the whole week we have planned in Lake District.Will come back again and again .Highly recommended . As you feel welcomed. The owners are the friendliest and gentle people I have met so far in B& B’sNo smoking and no take away policy which is really good as you don’t smell any food items in the house apart from lovely smell in the morning of breakfast being cooked !

Reviewer:Sheema A | Thu 19th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays